Downtown x 61st GRAMMY Awards Nominations

We are ecstatic to announce that 15 of Downtown’s clients have contributed to works nominated by the Recording Academy for the 61st Annual GRAMMY Awards. Congratulations to Anthony Rossomando, Andrew Wyatt, John Prine, Ryan Tedder, Zach Skelton, Niles City Sound, Larry Klein, Kendell Marvel, High On Fire, Bahamas, Gabriel Garzón-Montano, Hiatus Kaiyote, Cloud 9, Budde Music, and Big Yellow Dog writers Maren Morris and Daniel Tashian for their 18 nominated projects in 20 categories.

Anthony Rossomando and Andrew Wyatt co-wrote Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper’s “Shallow” from the hit film A Star Is Born alongside Mark Ronson, which is up for four GRAMMYs: Record of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Pop Duo/Group Performance, and Best Song Written for Visual Media. “Shallow” was also announced as a nominee for Best Original Song in a Motion Picture at the Golden Globes.

In addition to “Shallow,” Andrew co-wrote the song “Dreams” from Beck’s Colors — which was nominated for both Best Alternative Music Album and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical. 

An eight-time GRAMMY nominee and two-time winner, John Prine adds three additional nominations to his stellar legacy — with his 2018 album The Tree of Forgiveness up for Best Americana Album. Featured on the album, his songs “Summer’s End” and “Knockin’ On Your Screen Door” are both nominated for Best American Roots Song, as well.

With two songs co-written by Ryan Tedder and Zach Skelton, Shawn Mendes’ self-titled LP received a nomination for Best Pop Vocal Album. Nominated for eight GRAMMYs in the past, and winning three for his work with Adele and Taylor Swift, Ryan contributed to Shawn’s songs “Particular Taste” and “Because I Had You.” He also co-wrote the song "Into It" from Camila Cabello's Best Pop Vocal Album nominee, Camila.

Gabriel Garzón-Montano’s “6 8” was sampled in “Changes” from H.E.R.’s self-titled album, up for two major awards: Album of the Year and Best R&B Album. The sample was also used on H.E.R.’s cover of Drake’s “Jungle.”

Also up for Album of Year is Scorpion by Drake, which samples Nas' "Affirmative Action" — co-written and produced by Cloud 9’s Trackmasters — in “Mob Ties.” Additionally, the songwriter-producer duo's “Juicy” by The Notorious B.I.G. is sampled in The Carters’ Everything Is Love studio LP, up for Best Contemporary Album. The Beyoncé and Jay-Z collaborative project also features two prominent samples from Hiatus Kaiyote — "Sphinx Gate" and "The World It Softly Lulls" — in the song “713.”

Co-written and co-produced by Niles City Sound, Leon Bridge’s sophomore LP Good Thing is up for Best R&B Album — and its single “Bet Ain’t Worth the Hand” is also nominated for Best Traditional R&B Performance.

Larry Klein is up for Producer Of the Year in the Non-Classical category for his contributions to Thomas Dybdahl's "All These Things," "Can I Have It All," and "Look At What We've Done," as well as Madeleine Peyroux's AnthemLuciana Souza's The Book Of LongingHailey Tuck's Junk, and Molly Johnson's Meaning To Tell Ya.  

With three songs co-written by Kendell Marvel, Brothers Osborne's Port Saint Joe is nominated for Best Country Album — while High On Fire’s “Electric Messiah” is in the run for Best Metal Performance and Bahamas' Earthtones for Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical.

Downtown client Big Yellow Dog’s writers Daniel Tashian and Maren Morris are up for Album of the Year and Best Country Album for Daniel's work on Kacey Musgraves’s Golden Hour as well as Maren's “Dear Hate” featuring Vince Gill — nominated for Best Country Song and Best Country Duo/Group Performance.

Additionally, nominated for Best Boxed or Special Limited Edition Package, "Squeeze Box: The Complete Works of "Weird Al" Yankovic" features the song "Polka Party!" — which contains a sample of Falco's "Rock Me Amadeus," co-written and co-produced by Rob Bolland (Budde Music).

Downtown wishes all of our clients good luck at the 2019 GRAMMY Awards, and congratulates them for their nominations.

Listen to our Grammy Nominees playlist and more on Spotify.