Ryan Tedder to Receive NMPA Songwriter Icon Award

The National Music Publishers' Association (NMPA) will bestow GRAMMY-winning songwriter, producer, musician, and vocalist Ryan Tedder with its coveted Songwriter Icon Award at its annual meeting next month. The news follows a slew of recent hits for the esteemed writer including the No. 1 Jonas Brothers comeback single "Sucker," their followup "Cool," and P!nk's "Can We Pretend" feat. Cash Cash from her No. 1 album Hurts 2B Human, as well as the announcement of Ryan's upcoming NBC songwriting competition series Songland premiering May 28.

“On the heels of the historic Music Modernization Act becoming law, we couldn’t be more proud to present one of its greatest advocates, Ryan Tedder, with our Songwriter Icon Award,” said NMPA president and CEO David Isrealite. “Ryan worked in lock step with us as a major motivator of songwriters, artists, managers, and more to rally support for the bill and ultimately get it passed unanimously."

A staunch advocate for songwriters’ rights and an instrumental supporter of the Music Modernization Act, Tedder also formed the Patriot Games Publishing company to help develop the careers of songwriters, producers, and artists like Noel Zancanella and Cautious Clay.

"I’ve met few contemporary songwriters who have mastered the craft or challenged the art form quite like Ryan Tedder," Downtown Founder and CEO Justin Kalifowitz posted on Instagram. "An enthusiast for excellence in music and life, Ryan is a true mentor to a new generation of creators and fierce advocate for the importance of copyright. He is the definition of a modern songwriting icon." 

Dubbed the “undercover king of pop” by Billboard, the 28-time Gold & Platinum-certified songwriter has worked with a who’s who of contemporary music. His impressive résumé includes collaborations with a-list talent such as Adele, Ariana Grande, Backstreet Boys, Beyoncé, Camila Cabello, Chris Cornell, Christina Aguilera, Demi Lovato, Ed Sheeran, Ellie Goulding, Gym Class Heroes, Gwen Stefani, Jennifer Lopez, Jonas Brothers, Kelly Clarkson, Logic, Maroon 5, Paul McCartney, Sean Paul, Shawn Mendes, Stevie Wonder, Taylor Swift, The Pussycat Dolls, and U2, as well as his own GRAMMY-nominated band, OneRepublic.

Downtown congratulates Ryan on all of his recent success.